Proofreader Rejection

Proofreader Rejection

In retrospect, I see the foolishness
of offering to enforce the rules
when I long ago stopped believing in theirs.

How does one cross the T’s, dot the I’s, and fix comma splices
when the world has been written in bad English
and the editor is only concerned with too many questions?

I appreciate boundaries and long to work within them—
unless, of course, they’ve been drawn by a salivating fool
whose speech defect and shaking hand describe just one dimension.

If your main character was created in a college lab
and thinks a kiss will send him to the bottom of the pond,
you’ll need to look elsewhere. Get another long pair of eyes.

2 thoughts on “Proofreader Rejection

  1. I like the mention of our world being “written in bad English” because I agree. Also, in the last stanza (I think that’s what the word means, I’m not too savvy with poetry vocab), you may not mean what I’m interpreting it as, but if you are referring to “canned characters,” I love the way you phrased it. It makes me think of the sappiness of characters in young adult novels. I’m not sure if that’s along what you mean, but it reminded me of that. As a matter of fact, when I was helping out at my former middle school today, the teacher asked me to organize books by genre. I recognized some of the titles from reading them in sixth grade, and I find it funny that I was once interested in those types of novels when I now read Shakespeare for fun. I hope you enjoy this lengthy reply.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the response, Lorelei. Lengthy or not, I’ll take it. I like your insights, but I won’t supply any clues about my thought process. The metaphors and meanings I can create in poetry leave me free to finally express myself, and I don’t want to jeopardize that. I hope you understand.

      Like

Leave a Reply

